Analytics
4.8K members online now
4.8K members online now
Ask questions about filter set-up and issues with using filters in Google Analytics reports

Guide Me
star_border

Filtering Pages and grouping

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi There,

I am a total newbie at this so please be gentle with me.

My first and foremost request is as follows:

I have a website called www.SEEtheWILD.org and we a lead generator for amazing experiences with wildlife and conservation.  The issue is some of our top pages our informational pages like whale shark facts.  First and foremost, how to create a report that filters out these 20 or so informational pages.  I know how to filter 5 pages but that's it.  I have played with content grouping with no success.

After I am able to figure out how to filter out these informational pages, I would love to know how to group my pages by company, location, animal, but that a whole different level.

Thanks so much for taking the time to look into this.

Sincerely,

Brian

1 Expert replyverified_user

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Brian,

I guess Google Analytics content grouping indeed is what you're looking for. Assuming that the definition what makes up an informational page or companies or locations etc. is given in your page URLs in some way, you have to choose between extraction and rule-set methods for defining a content grouping [1]. Animals for example you would have to extract from page URLs. And any non-systematic bundle of pages May be defined by a rule set using the "|" (OR) operator in a regular expression (like pageA|pageB|pageC).

Christoph

[1] https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/2853546?hl=en

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Danke schön Christoph.

I really appreciate your response.  Although I don't fully understand it I hope my questions will make it clearer.