Analytics
5K members online now
5K members online now
Ask questions about filter set-up and issues with using filters in Google Analytics reports

Guide Me
star_border

Analytics number of events changes according to time frame (using filters)

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello,

I'm having issues understanding what happens when I'm querying my Analytics data. To elaborate my queries, I'm using the Query Explorer.

Hereby what I want:

• Metric: Total events, filtered by Event label
  • Dimensions: per isoWeek per year

I noticed that I get different results when I change the start date of my analysis.

This not normal I think, what happened on week 16 in 2016 should not change if the total time frame I'm studying starts on week 1 2015 or week 1 2016… Or do I understand something wrong?

Hereby some screenshots that will show you the results obtained, changing only the start date of the analysis.

Start-date 01/2016:

Screenshot 2016-08-25 10.55.21.png

Start-date 01/2015:

Screenshot 2016-08-25 10.55.28.png

I do not have this issue when I'm not using filters and only using Total Events. Is there a problem with Analytics' filters, or something that I do not understand about dimensions?

Thanks a lot for your help,

RB

[EDIT: I have also tried directly on the custom reports from GA, and I have the same problem: the values obtained of the weeks are changing when I extend the time frame to previous data also… Even when I use only one dimension: isoYearIsoWeek. It makes no sense…]

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Analytics number of events changes according to time frame (using filters)

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi,

What you're seeing is data sampling. It means that Google Analytics estimates the metric based on a random subset of full data. So for a different date range a different sample data is used hence the different results.