Analytics
3.6K members online now
3.6K members online now
Dive into multiple domain (Cross/Sub) tracking, implementing Ecommerce and Enhanced Ecommerce, setting up Event tracking, and Universal Analytics code.

Guide Me
star_border

Tracking dynamic values for Ecommerce

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I'm currently trying to setup revenue tracking with eCommerce but I'm having some issues figuring out how to make it work for our company.   It's an insurance company so that means that the prices per policy can differ quite a bit.   We're using C# with Razor and Knockout.js so I'm not sure what the approach would be for this. I've got eCommerce turned on within the property and the code snippet inserted onto our confirmation page for checkout.  It's also noted that I've tested some static values within the code onto a test property and it transmits normally.
 This is my first time diving into Google Analytics so i apologize for any details left out.  Let me know if I can provide any more info to help understand my situation.  

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

No worries Travis, the product price (and of course the transaction value) can differ for each sale. The same product can have different prices. Just set the price field to whatever insurance premium value you have.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Sorry but I don't believe I understand what you mean, or vice versa.  I need to have the price for the item change each time a user checks out with a plan.  The premiums can change so much depending on conditions and what not.  I'd also be putting in so many "addItem" objects that it would record all of them and not just the one that the customer is checking out with.  

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 4
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

Are (a) all items of the policy considered different products, and the combination of those options ultimately becomes the policy? Or (b) do you track a policy as a single product with a price that might change for every unique transaction?