Analytics
2.1K members online now
2.1K members online now
Dive into multiple domain (Cross/Sub) tracking, implementing Ecommerce and Enhanced Ecommerce, setting up Event tracking, and Universal Analytics code.

Guide Me
star_border

Tracking Groups of Subdomains

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello all,

I am brand new to the Analytics game, and unsure how to set up subdomain tracking for an atypical use-case. 

Background Context

I work for an education company with one main domain:  www.edsite.com

Underneath that we have 38 subdomains, each for a school:  

My main problem is figuring out the easiest way to lump subdomains (schools) together into districts to create district Views.

Additional relevant details:

• Users from schoolA will never create cross-traffic to schoolB, because each school site has its own login and pertains to a different set of users (teachers/students).  Because of this, subdomains essentially function as their own domains.
  • Right now, I have the same tracking code on every subdomain.
  • I cannot simply associate each subdomain (school) to a View because I have more than 25 schools, and am limited to 25 Views.  So I *must* figure out a solution that allows me to combine subdomains together.

Questions:

1. I desire to have roll-up reporting on a per-district basis, where a district consists of more than one school (multiple subdomains linked together).  Within that district View, however, I would like to be able to differentiate between activity from different schools (subdomains).  How do I create a filter for this district View where I combine traffic from multiple subdomains together but still retain the ability to segment by subdomain?
  2. What is the most logical entity to associate a district to in the Analytics hierarchy?  I was planning on using Profiles for this, but not sure of the best way.