Analytics
2.7K members online now
2.7K members online now
Dive into multiple domain (Cross/Sub) tracking, implementing Ecommerce and Enhanced Ecommerce, setting up Event tracking, and Universal Analytics code.

Guide Me
star_border

Capture source URL when utm_source is set

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Google Analytics. I just started learning about the utm variables and how that can really help understand what GA is showing me.

My question is this, if utm_source is NOT explicitly set GA will capture the referring URL as the source.  Is there a way to capture the URL in a different utm variable?  

For example, my old implementation would show the following:

Source: referringURL.com

Medium: referral

Now I set the parameters like so: utm_source=8&utm_medium=1234 so it shows this:

Source: 8

Medum: 1234

I'm looking for a way to still capture the referring URL so that maybe utm_campaign=referringURL.com

My biggest problem is that I don't have control over the referringURL so I'd like the system to do it in such a way that I don't have to hardcode a URL.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Capture source URL when utm_source is set

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi Bobbie
Unfortunately as far as I'm aware, you cannot change the default behaviour of the auto population of utm variables. The only way I can imagine this is if you host the analytics.js file locally and make the modifications yourself. I wouldn't recommend this though.

Im at a loss as to why you'd want to do this though. Why not just let it be auto set in the correct parameter?

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor
Hi,

it is somewhat challenging to come up a solution when I'm trying to guess what are you trying to use this for... So if you can give any backgrounds I think that would speed things up.

You can set your URL to any UTM parameter. Maybe you could print the URL with JavaScript to your link?