Analytics
2.7K members online now
2.7K members online now
Dive into multiple domain (Cross/Sub) tracking, implementing Ecommerce and Enhanced Ecommerce, setting up Event tracking, and Universal Analytics code.

Guide Me
star_border

Best approach to tracking new front page

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi,

GA beginner here.

My company is in the middle of developing a new front page that will include several new sections that we'd like to start tracking. The sections are "recent purchases" (includes list of links to SKU pages), recommended products (links to product pages/SKUs), and brands (links to existing brand pages).

I initially wanted to track this with events, but seeing how we're mostly interested in tracking clicks only (for now), I was wondering if tagging links on the front page is would suffice. 

If the consensus is that the latter approach suffices, what's best way update the link tags/anatomy?

This an example of a product/SKU link on our website:

SKU: www.[company].com/Catalog/Product/[SKU#]

Product: www.[company].com/Catalog/Products/[Product name]

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Mo B
April 2017

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star

Event tracking would give you an idea.  That said, I would ensure that all pages have the GA code and deploy the new site with good clean html that leverages id attributes.  If each element has a unique id and you enable enhanced link attribution you can use the chrome plugin to see how users are navigating through the site.

More on Enhanced link attribution and the plugin here:

https://developers.google.com/analytics/devguides/collection/analyticsjs/enhanced-link-attribution

https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/6047802?hl=en

Best,

Theo Bennett

Analytics Evangelist at MoreVisibility | Contact Me
Connect on LinkedIn

View solution in original post