Analytics
2.5K members online now
Discuss regaining access to Analytics accounts, restoring accounts, changing user access levels, and navigating the homepage
 
Guide Me
star_border
Reply

Removing multiple business without losing their data?

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

An individual who no longer works for my current company recently gave us full control at the account level for google analytics. However, we also now have full control of 10+ other websites, as well. Is there a way to only have full control of our website without losing any of the other companies (or our own) data? We would like to remove this former employee from having access to our account, but are unable to do so because removing him would also remove him from the 10+ other websites that he works on. 

 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Removing multiple business without losing their data?

[ Edited ]
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi Kelly,

 

Did I understand correctly that you would like to remove this former employee from having access to your property and he doesn't want you to have access to his 10+ other properties?

You can give him an "Edit, Collaborate, Read & Analyse" access at the property level as well if you're the account manager but frankly, it doesn't solve the issue completely because he cannot create new filters without the account level access.

 

I know that it's a pain. I recommend you to contact official support, maybe they have a better solution than creating a completely new account.

 

Here are the instructions:

 

1. Go to https://support.google.com/analytics

2. Choose Contact Us -> Email -> Access issues -> Admin left the company

3. Fill out the form

 

Hope this helps.
Taavi

Re: Removing multiple business without losing their data?

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hi @Kelly K,

 

Treat each account as an individual situation and follow the Google Help Info below for each.

 

You can add users at the account, property, or view level. The level at which you add a user determines that user's initial access. For example, if you add a user at the view level, that user belongs to the account, but initially has no permissions at the account or property level. You can change permissions for a user at any time. You must have Manage Users permission to add, modify, or delete users.

 

Add users

You can add as many users as you need. To add a new user to an account/property/view:

  1. Sign in to your Analytics account.
  2. Select the Admin tab and navigate to the desired account/property/view.
  3. In the ACCOUNT, PROPERTY, or VIEW column (depending upon whether you want to add the user at the account, property, or view level), click User Management.
  4. Under Add permissions for, enter the email address for the user's Google Account.
  5. Select the permissions you want. Learn more about permissions.
  6. Select Notify this user by email to send a notification to each user you're adding.
  7. Click Add.

 

Modify users

You can modify the permissions for any user at any level in an Analytics account. For example, if you have given a user Read  permission for only a single view, you can subsequently also give the user Edit permission for only that view. Or you can give that user Edit permission at the property level, and thereby also give Edit permission for every view in that property.

 

You can give a user more permissions as you move down the account hierarchy, but you cannot give a user fewer permissions than you assigned at higher levels. For example, if you assign a user Edit permissions at the account level, then that user also has Edit permissions at the property and view levels (and you cannot revoke those permissions at the property or view level). Conversely, you can assign a user Edit permissions at the view level, but assign no permissions at either the property or account level. Learn more about permissions.

 

To modify permissions for an existing user:

  1. Sign in to your Analytics account.
  2. Select the Admin tab and navigate to the desired account/property/view.
  3. In the ACCOUNT, PROPERTY, or VIEW column (depending upon whether you want to modify permissions at the account, property, or view level), click User Management.
  4. Use the search box at the top of the list to find the user you want. Enter a full or partial address( e.g., janedoe@gmail.com or janedoe).
  5. Use the selector in the Account Permissions column to add or remove permissions for the user.
  6. Click Save.

 

Delete users

Although you can add users at any level in the account hierarchy, you can delete users only at the account level.

To delete a user:

  1. Sign in to your Analytics account.
  2. Select the Admin tab and navigate to the desired account.
  3. In the ACCOUNT column, click User Management. Note: Be sure that you click User Management in the ACCOUNT column (left-most column). If you click User Management in the PROPERTY or VIEW columns, you will not see a delete option for the user(s).
  4. Use the search box at the top of the list to find the user you want. Enter a full or partial address( e.g., janedoe@gmail.com or janedoe).
  5. Click delete for the user you want to delete. Note: delete appears to the far right of the row for each user. If you don't see delete in each user row, it's because you are in User Management at the PROPERTY or VIEW level. To delete a user, you must be in User Management at the ACCOUNT level. Select the Admin tab. Be sure to click User Management in the ACCOUNT column.

 

Please let us know how this goes and if you need further help.

 

Kind Regards,

 

James

_________________________________________________________
Google AdWords Top Contributor | Google Partner | GYBO | Local Guide | My Profile