Discuss regaining access to Analytics accounts, restoring accounts, changing user access levels, and navigating the homepage
 
Guide Me
star_border
Reply

Google Analytics

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I merged two websites and want to use the google analytics code of the one with the highest traffic.  So I changed the domain for that one.

 

Should I delete the other google analytics account with the same domain name since I am not using that GA code any longer or does it matter?

 

 

Re: Google Analytics

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
It depends on if you will still need the data from the old account. Since you are only using the new code, the old account shouldn't be receiving any new data from the websites. If you do not foresee any need for comparing the data from the combined website against the old account you might be safe deleting it, but there is really no harm in keeping it. If you are worried about getting them confused, you could change the displayed name in the Admin Property settings.

Does this make me sound like an Analytics Account hoarder?

Re: Google Analytics

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Not at all. Thank you so much. Good to know it doesn't matter.