Analytics
5.7K members online now
Discuss regaining access to Analytics accounts, restoring accounts, changing user access levels, and navigating the homepage

Guide Me
star_border

GA Tracking Code Changed Spontaneously

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

A few days ago My GA stopped working. After checking, I found that the Tracking ID number on my account changed.  I can't figure out how to change it back.  I have been using this account for several years. Funny thing is it changed on Firefox and Chromium on my desktop but did not change on my Android tablet.

Can anyone explain why it changed and how do I change it back?

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Bronwyn V (Top Contributor)
3w

Rising Star
# 4
Rising Star

Here is how you can find the tracking code number of your Analytics

https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1008080?hl=en#trackingID

And here are the instructions to change your code in Etsy. (From step 2)

https://www.etsy.com/help/article/230

From what I know Etsy only allows you to insert one code. So probably you are seeing some cache version in your Android. After changing your code back, clean the cache of all your devices/browsers and check your code again.

By the way, how are you checking your tracking code number in firefox and android?

Google Analytics Rising Star | Was my response helpful? If yes, please mark it as the 'Best Answer.' Learn how here!
Analytics Consultant at Carloseo.com - Find me on Twitter | Email me

View solution in original post

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star

Hi @Kathleen R,

The code can only be changed by someone with access to your site (if it is directly installed) or GTM (if it is inserted through it).