Analytics
4.8K members online now
Discuss regaining access to Analytics accounts, restoring accounts, changing user access levels, and navigating the homepage

Guide Me
star_border

Access to old analytics data from old site

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi. I was recently brought on board a small publishing company to deal with a bunch of issues, one of of which is a newly "converted-to-WordPress and moved to new server" website after predecessors were fired. I am an amateur at GA and haven't had my hands in it for about 4-5 years but this was supposed to be a minor part of my job until I uncovered a mess of "issues"...

The current Analytics account was established by the contract web dev the past employees hired to covert the old site from a hosted solution to WP and move it to a contract server and I was just given access to it. The current GA account only has data going back to the launch of the converted/moved site. We have no data from the old site that was built 4-5 years ago and really need it. We have no idea if there was even an account set up or if there was, who of the 4-6 past employees that may have had access set it up. Is there a way I can get a hold of someone at Google I can discuses this with?

Thank you all for your patience.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Randolph D,

That is a tough one. 

Google respects the privacy & security of each account, so whoever creates the GA account it is owner of it. They will not give out any information. 

Further, since you are not ever sure if there was a GA account in the past, that is another roadblock, since a deleted account is gone... and/or attempting to recover a GA account that we do not even know if existed means you do not have any data, such as billing info, account ID, etc..