4.9K members online now
Learn about the Google Ad Grants advertising program for nonprofits
Guide Me
star_border

Advice for culling unproductive ad groups and keywords

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I'm new to AdWords and to the Grant. I was (and remain) concerned that, being in an esoteric nonprofit, we would have trouble achieving the goals of the Grant.

As a result, our campaigns have an excess of Keywords and Ad Groups and I wish to optimize our results without tossing out potentially productive words and ads.

Is there an accepted way to cull Keywords and Ad Groups to increase Quality Score and effectiveness?

Should I use the "Automate" feature for Ad Groups and/or Keywords?

Thank you.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Advice for culling unproductive ad groups and keywords

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

@americanrainwater

My main recommendation would be to focus optimizing your AdWords account towards the goals of your organization and less on those of maximizing the grant and its spend. This is because, the better you focus on the goals of your organization the more in line with those goals your grant account will be and this will help to ensure that all of your ads and keywords are mission-based, which is an important requirement of the Ad Grant program.

This will also help you to cull the keywords and ad groups and increase the effectiveness of your campaigns. As you look over these keywords you should be able to recognize which ones are relevant to your mission and which ones are not. If you have been using automated keyword research tools (or even Google's own keyword recommendations) you likely do have many keywords that are not the most relevant to your particular mission since automated keyword research tools will often pull up keywords that focus on high search volumes and impressions (certainly good things) but often have little to no relevance to the mission of the organization.