Partners
5.2K members online now
5.2K members online now
Check here for refresher Hangout on Air videos, study guides and certification questions.
Guide Me
star_border

New in digital marketing - certifications

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello,

I want to start a career as a digital marketer in the UK. I have an irrelevant background (economics degree and customer service working experience) and no working experience. I am thinking of volunteering in a company (hopefully) since I was unsuccessful in finding a paid job in this field even in jobs that required no experience. I am thinking that if I get certified I'll have a better chance of finding a position to volunteer. 1) Do you think getting certified helps in this case? I passed the fundamentals exam and I started studying for the Search Advertising exam. By the way, I am a bit confused regarding the studying materials as I'm directed to either this page: https://support.google.com/partners/topic/2792638  or this one: https://support.google.com/partners/answer/6322164?hl=en&ref_topic=6322135&visit_id=1-63611978355552...2) Which one should I study? 3) If I chose another category (eg mobile) for my certification would I be more competitive?

Thank you.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Marina N,

While it looks like both of those links contain relevant information, I would start from here (From the links in the partners portal):  https://support.google.com/partners/topic/3204437

Having a certification is definitely going to help you in trying to break into a marketing/ppc role.  Now, why stop at Search (and yes, this is the next logical step after fundamentals) keep going and try to get as many of the additional certs as possible - just about every campaign these days has a mobile aspect to it. I could go on and on, each of the additional certs definitely hold value.