AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
1.4K members online now
1.4K members online now
Announcements and important information from your Community Managers
Guide Me
star_border

AdWords Community Spotlight - David Szetela

[ Edited ]
Google Employee
# 1
Google Employee

Today’s Special guest for the Community Spotlight is David Szetela, Owner and CEO, FMB Media and author of the books: “Customers Now” and “PPC Advertising on One Hour a Day.”

Continue below to read the full interview….

Q: Tell us about your career choice and how you ended up using AdWords with your business.

A: Prior to my introduction to AdWords, I worked in marketing positions at newsletter and magazine publishing companies. I learned all the rudiments of direct mail marketing, including form and message testing, list testing and response analysis. it was all a series of marketing experiments, with one big detriment: we had to wait weeks or even months to accumulate actionable data.

In 2003 I became aware of AdWords, and I was instantly hooked. It was direct marketing on steroids, with actionable data accumulating in just days. I decided to focus my career on PPC campaign management, and have never regretted it.

Q: Tell us about your best AdWords experience?

A: My agency charges clients based on our performance. For example, for B2C clients we'll charge a percentage of the profit we generate using AdWords. One of our first clients offered us a tiered commission structure, with a generous percentage if we met or exceeded the top tier of sales.

He said, "You'll never hit that target anyway." We hit the target in just six weeks. The client then renegotiated the commission structure because they felt they were paying us too much!

[CM JP: The former is something that every Agency hopes will happen everytime!]