My Business
3.6K members online now
3.6K members online now
Take your business to the next level.
Guide Me
star_border

my business listing does not show up in the city its located.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

First off, here is my info:

Bellingham I S

404 Oak St, Suite 266, Syracuse, NY 13203

315-527-4976

https://plus.google.com/b/114230825094945199833/+Syracuseinvestigator/about?gmbpt=true&hl=en

So here's my problem.  I made a website using godaddy and have made a billion mistakes.  I am not technically savvy but I am doing my best here. When I first made the website, godaddy suggested adding tons of key words for better google ranking. So I started hiding them in my website thinking that was a good thing.  Thankfully, I quickly learned that google doesn't like this and I fixed the problem.  I seriously had no idea about any of this SEO stuff and ranking.  I've been learning and making changes to my website as I go.  I had read (well maybe miss-read) that it was ok to have a PO Box for a service area business.  I then learned that this was bad because google thinks you are a spammer.  I am a legitimate business (not a spammer) and had only planned on using the PO box temporarily.  As soon as I learned that it was not wise, I switched my address to my new office (a physical location).  I am now using a brick and mortar business listing.  I have never been given a formal citation, warning, or notice of penalty by google, but now my business is not being listed in the city its located in.  So, if I type the key words "Syracuse, NY private Investigator" the business doesn't show up.  It used to show up like 6 places down on the my business.  If I type the key words in using a nearby city, it will sometimes show up.  So now I am wondering if I am doing something wrong.  Or, am I being punished for something I had done.  I was never notified by google that I was doing things against their guidelines.  There is more to my story but I think this is the pertinen