Take your business to the next level.
Guide Me
star_border

established google business suddenly not showing up in search

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I have had a verified google business for 7 or so years, that has always shown up in top 3 listings for google business (previously local) search.  I am a plastic surgeon and my business is Adam Lowenstein, MD- Montecito Plastic Surgery.  I have many 5 star reviews, lots of info and photos, and a verified account.  Quite suddenly, much has changed.  

While my Google Business shows prominently in the search for "santa barbara plastic surgeon”, I am no longer showing up at all for the searches of:

santa barbara plastic surgery

plastic surgeon santa barbara

plastic surgery santa barbara

I'm not only no longer in the top three, I'm not listed at all here where I used to be listed in all of these searches, and my local competitors, such as Pacific Plastic Surgery, is listed consistently in all of these searches.  Any input would help, thanks.

2 Expert replyverified_user

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

I'm sure it is difficult when it seems you've done nothing to change your online presence and suddenly your listing drops in ranking. 

Some key questions: 

Why do you deserve to be listed there?

Why shouldn't your competitor be appearing? 

What is your competitor doing that you aren't doing? (this will require some serious work, in some cases, to find out)

Once you can reasonably answer those questions, you might find yourself thinking about investing in online marketing - perhaps you'll find new opportunities you can focus on for your practice. 

Also, having more than one website for a single business doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Additionally, not having your full address appearing on your homepage probably doesn't help. 

Joel Headley, Google My Business Top Contributor
Find me on: Twitter

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭