6.9K members online now
Take your business to the next level.
Guide Me
star_border

Serious data issue regarding my local listing

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Honestly I'm having no luck with Google support on the sub-continent regarding this one. They keep downplaying my issue through the email and phone system support so I thought i would come here and show you just how messed up this data issue is.

Ok firstly, I've been using Google local/GMB for around 6 years and have validated, optimised countless listings. But I've never seen anything like this before.

The business is called "West Coast Institute", located in Perth, Western Australia which I'm a manager of. It's a college/training centre. When you search for "West Coast Institute", "West Coast Institute Perth", "West Coast Institute Australia", guess what appears? A local martial arts school listing from CALIFORNIA, USA with a similar name! How can this happen on Google.com.au, when my physical presence is in Perth, WA, and I'm using local search terms?

Not only that, this California local listing on the right side of SERPS, which is meant to be showing an image/logo from the Google My Business dashboard, is instead showing a HOTLINKED image from the West Coast Institute website! Tell me that's illegal when this image should ONLY be a internally stored image from Google's own servers? As if the terrible user experience itself wasn't enough here.

Historically the West Coast Institute local biz page has been fine for over 12 months - verified, optimised and showing up correctly without problem. But this issue cropped up about 4 weeks ago which is causing major confusion.

Can I please get a response from a Google tech/expert??

Cheers,

Daniel

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Serious data issue regarding my local listing

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Daniel
I'm not a Googler, but will pass this onto someone who might be able to pass it up to G for attention.