AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

My Business
1.9K members online now
1.9K members online now
Take your business to the next level.
Guide Me
star_border

Representation for Service Area Business Reviews in SERP

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

I am relatively new to the Google My Business world, but I have done enough research to become convinced that my business needs to be classified as a Service Area Business.  Long story short, our business is selling moving boxes, but we deliver them to customers rather than operate a retail storefront.  And our delivery areas are pretty big.  For example, one delivery area is the greater Austin, TX area.  We define that as the 5-county area as it is defined by the OMB (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greater_Austin).  Like everyone, we have physical locations (administrative offices, warehouses, etc.), but none of those are designed to service customers in those locations, so that makes us a SAB.  Fine - we can live with that.

However, what I have been a little disappointed to discover is how few options there appear to be for an SAB to showcase its reviews.  If I were to be a local business, I could (making some assumptions about CTR/relevance/authority of my site and also about my review quality) show up in the 3-pack of local results - which we all now understand is placed above the organic search results (for "austin texas moving boxes", for example) - and my review info would really "pop".  Also, if I were a local business, I would be added into the Google Places API, which would make it possible for me to extract those reviews (or at least some of them) and showcase them on the (localized) web page I have for our greater Austin business.

But alas, as an SAB, neither of those appear available to me.  So all of that background for my questions: