AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

My Business
3.8K members online now
3.8K members online now
Take your business to the next level.
Guide Me
star_border

I'm a Service Area Business, but do not show up in all areas I service

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Business name: The Academic Hound
Address: hidden
Phone: 512-999-1121

I'm a dog trainer and travel to people's homes in order to do business. My "business address" is my home, and since people do not come to me I have my address hidden.

I live in a small town (Kyle, TX) right on the outskirt of a larger city (Austin, TX). Most of my business comes from Austin. In my google+ account, have listed all of the city names that I travel to in my settings, including Austin.

This said, if someone were to look up "dog trainer Austin, Tx", I do not appear whatsoever, even though I have Austin listed as part of my service area. The thing that is strange about this... is that there are other dog trainers that appear that are not located in Austin. Some have addresses listed, others do not. Some of these other businesses that appear don't even have Google + accounts, yet they are still listed while I am not. This is what has gotten me very confused. How are they showing up when they are even further from Austin than I am?

I have tried all sorts of different things in my settings, including setting my service area to a 30 mile radius, listing all of the zip codes that I service, and now I have switched to listing my city names. Nothing has worked.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, this is really taking a toll on my business because no one can tell that I exist. My google + page is https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/100599350359333578978/+Academichound/

I do show up if you type in "dog trainer Kyle, Tx" but that doesn't really help me. I need to show up where the majority of my clients are.