AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Data Studio
1.8K members online now
1.8K members online now
Ask questions about Data Studio
Guide Me
star_border

Problem with Date Range using Google Sheet

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

I've been using a Google Sheet as a data source for several months with no issues. On Monday, I added some new columns and changed a few of the existing ones. I refreshed my fields and accepted the changes but I was still getting errors on my dashboard that stated that changes had been detected and I needed to refresh my fields. No matter how many times I refreshed my fields, or reconnected the data source (or restarted my browser, or logged out and back in), I couldn't seem to get rid of this error message.

So I removed the data source and added it again. I added the new data source back to the dashboard elements that had previously given the error message but now instead of the error message, it said No Data. If I removed the date range dimension, it would give a value so it's clear that it is reading the data from the sheet but for some reason has stopped recognising the date dimension.

In Google Sheets, this column is formatted to YYYY-MM-DD and the field in Data Studio is set to Date (YYYY-MM-DD). This is that same as when the sheet was working perfectly so I don't know why this would cause issues now.

I've spent two days trying to get this to work. I've created a new report with just the sheet as a data source, I've added GA as a second data source (and this does report data based on the date range correctly), I've refreshed and reconnected so many times. I've checked each individual element and ensured that it's using the correct data source, dimension and metric.

I'm finding this very frustrating! Any ideas?

Thanks!

Chris

Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭