Data Studio
3.4K members online now
3.4K members online now
Ask questions about Data Studio
Guide Me
star_border

Last value from a group of values selected via date range (and comparison with previous period)

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi everyone,

I'm new in Google Data Studio and I'm in trouble with date ranges and data import. It would be great if you could help me with tis specific situation Smiley Happy

I want to create a Scorecard widget showing data coming from a Google Spreadsheet with two columns:

1. Date
  2. Score index (imagine, for example, the number of a facebook fan page likes, increasing or decreasing daily)

Basically what I want is to extract the last numeric value from Score Index within a group of values selected with the Date Range tool. For example:

From Last Month values (March, 2017) I need the last of the Score Index values (31st March). Also I would need to compare that value with the value from Previous Period (31st, April).

How I tell Google Data Studio to pick that last score index value from a random selected date range, no matter what period selected, and then compare it with its previous period? I was thinking about creating a custom Calculated Field within my Spreadsheet data source, but I'm not sure about what kind of formula or expression I should use...

Hope you can help me Smiley Happy

Last value from a group of values selected via date range (and comparison with previous period)

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi Marta, 

Is the last score index always at the end of the month?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi Marta,

I wondered if you found the solution because I have a similar issue. So far I changed the aggregation type for 'average' as it's still better than 'sum' but it's not really a solution. I was also thinking about using a function in Spreadsheets or a calculated field but I don't find any function that would actually do this.

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 4
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi Gregory,