Ask questions about Data Studio
Guide Me
star_border

Help getting uploaded data into Time Series Chart

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi there,

I'm new to the Data Studio and I'm trying to setup my first Time Series chart from an uploaded CSV. 

Screen_Shot_2017-05-01_at_15_41_43.jpg

My data has a lot of series to it. I am plotting the performance of items over time (in months) I am at a total loss as to how to get Data Studio to plot each item as a series and plot my graph! See the screenshot of how the data is laid out. 

I've annotated it show how I would do this in Excel.

Any tips for this beginner would be very welcome!

Many thanks! :-)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author James J
May 2017

Participant ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Participant ✭ ✭ ☆

I think you're running into problems because Data Studio will read each column as a different metric, rather than a time series. If you flip it and have the dates running down column A and the name of the metric running across row 1, this should make things easier. Just make sure that you set up your date as YYYYMM rather than Jun 15 (once it's in your chart, DS will automatically convert it to the readable format).

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author James J
May 2017

Participant ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Participant ✭ ✭ ☆

I think you're running into problems because Data Studio will read each column as a different metric, rather than a time series. If you flip it and have the dates running down column A and the name of the metric running across row 1, this should make things easier. Just make sure that you set up your date as YYYYMM rather than Jun 15 (once it's in your chart, DS will automatically convert it to the readable format).

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭