Ask questions about Data Studio
Guide Me
star_border

Creating a field that shows Quantity x Price totals

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello,

I am new to data studio and databases in general. Everything was going great and I was pulling most metrics I wanted until I just wanted to have a metric showing the total gross sales which would show the total of sales, each sale being QUANTITY ORDERED x UNIT PRICE.

Problem is Data Studio is multiplying the aggregated quantity by the aggregated unit price. So the end total is not right as the variation of quantity is not reflected. I tried changing aggregation to none but then it did not work.

Is there any way to have Data Studio multiply each quantity by its right price then summing instead of summing the totals of each field?

Thank you very much and sorry for my English!

Best,

Haroun

1 Expert replyverified_user

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Try creating a calculated metric in GA first and then use that in your DS data source

VP & Chief Evangelist at Hub'Scan | Contact me
Level 80 Digital Analytics Warrior, KPI Therapist and Keeper of the One True Tagging Plan

Re: Creating a field that shows Quantity x Price totals

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi Julien,
Thanks you. But the source is a MySQL database. I can't create Google analytics metrics.
Best,

Envoyé depuis mon smartphone Samsung Galaxy.

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor

Bonjour Haroun, 

in that case, you could create the desired field in MySQL and it would be available in DS

Level 80 Digital Analytics Warrior, KPI Therapist and Keeper of the One True Tagging Plan

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 5
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Bonjour Julien,

Thanks for the answer. I was hoping there was a solution built in DS but seems like yes, changing the database is the only option. I hope my friend programmer will know how to handle that as looking online I see some people recommend Calculated Columns, Triggers or Views, and I know nothing about that :-)

Best,

Haroun