5.4K members online now
Guide Me
star_border

SalesForce counts as a referral for conversions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello!

Started digging into conversiont tracking 2 weeks ago for Google Analytics (even though we have several months of data). What we noticed whas that SalesForce appears as referral traffic. It goes like this:

1) A visitor fills in the form --> 2) Redirects quickly though SalesForce --> 3) They land on /success-page (Automatically).

Since Google Analytics by default uses the the "Latest Interaction" makes this lead counts as a referral, and not AdWords or Organic - which it seems to be when I swap to "First Interaction" in attributes.

I tried the obvious solution of excluding salesforce.com. But that just resulted in that we do not see how many "referrals" there was at all. But the conversions did not seem to increase. Which made me believe all we did was to filter those, not just "ignoring" that step.

I am a bit new to Google Analytics. But here is my concerns:

1) How could I "Ignore" (filter) these out without just discarding them totally? All I want is Google Analytics to be blind to SalesForce. But still count the conversion to AdWords or Organic.

2) I would love to get the data back of the number of conversions we have had. I know filter do not work retrospectively. Any way to filter it out in advanced?

Do note: Since all forms goes through SalesForce - That should cause a 100% referral. At the moment it's just 90%. It could be some forms not working properly - but wanted to add this so I did not leave any detail out.

Another question. I am aware of that it is not possible to swap from "First Interaction" to "Last Interaction". Am I mistaken or anything updated recently? This would solve all the issues.

I hope I made myself clear without adding too much Smiley Happy

1 Expert replyverified_user

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor