My Business
2.9K members online now
2.9K members online now
Agencies and businesses with many locations: start here.
Guide Me
star_border
Reply

Delete wrong/duplicate listing

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi all,

 

Sometimes, we upload data, from our database and get 'duplicate' listings. This is an error. When I want to remove a duplicate listing, I can choose from 3 options.

Options remove duplicate location.PNG

 

When I choose 'remove', it gives me the following:

When click on remove listing.PNG

 

GMB does not allow me to just remove a wrong listing. I am obligated to choose 'store permanently closed' and then remove. This means that a wrong listing has existed, but the owner closed their POI.

 

Is their going to be a fix for this issue??

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Delete wrong/duplicate listing

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Stefan K

 

I would select Remove >> you don't want the duplicate showing up with a big Red Permanently Closed label on it.

 

Then you want to contact business support and request the "duplicate" be marked as Moved / Merged into the correct verified listing.

 

Contact Business Support 

 

https://support.google.com/business/contact/business_c2c_l?rd=3#

 

OR - Go to Dashboard >> Manage Location

Top Right ( Hamburger Menu ) >> Support

Contact Business Support.png

 

Select Support >> Help Menu Pops Up

Scroll Down to Email

 

Contact Business Support Email and Call Back.png

 

Fill in the details >> Request Call Back or Email

 



Tim Capper, Google My Business Top Contributor
Was my response helpful? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’ Learn how here.

Find me on: Google+ | Twitter | Facebook | Linkedin
Tim operates a bespoke Local SEO Consultancy in the UK, Online Ownership

Replies to negative reviews not posted

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Watching. I have properties that I do own, but marking it as closed does not remove it from Google Maps. Makes it hard to clean up items people have put on maps that we don't want there.

Delete wrong/duplicate listing

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 4
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

When you select a duplicate/wrong property to be removed, the warning seems to you say that it removes your access to it, not that it removes it from Google Maps. Is that correct? 

Delete wrong/duplicate listing

Top Contributor
# 5
Top Contributor

Yes the warning is a bit scary. Make sure you have selected the correct one >> tick all the boxes and then remove.

 

If it is a duplicate and unverified, it should be removed completely. If this is not the case please come back here and provide maps link to: 

 

Verified Listing

Duplicate Unverified

 

I can then ask for the unverified duplicate to be removed / merged into verified listing.



Tim Capper, Google My Business Top Contributor
Was my response helpful? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’ Learn how here.

Find me on: Google+ | Twitter | Facebook | Linkedin
Tim operates a bespoke Local SEO Consultancy in the UK, Online Ownership