AdWords
4.1K members online now
4.1K members online now
Find out more about AdWords billing options, forms of payment, and promotional codes
Guide Me
star_border

VAT Help - Very Scared and Worried

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello,

I am a student and I run a very small Youtube channel that makes less than £1 a year with monetisation. I signed up to Adwords years ago to draw traffic to a website I used to own. That was years ago and it has since closed down. I then thought that I would use Adwords to draw traffic to a video, as someone had suggested on a Reddit post. I was just running a £10 advertisement which got me 100 ish views. 

Now, it just so happened that I was looking at my account settings and it says I am a business, at first I didn't think too much about it, but then I heard about VAT. Now I thought, with everything else, it would get added to my normal charges, but apparently I need to do a self assessment thing. Now, I am young, far too young to know anything about self assessment forms. I am not a registered business, nothing like that, I am merely a student and I have no idea how to self assessment or what VAT even is. I am not sure that I should be paying this, I don't know how, I don't know what it is, I am far too young to be dealing with things like this. I do not use adwords for monetary gain, just for a personal youtube channel. I have only spent £10. I assume I do not need to even think about VAT in this case and can just forget about it? I am very confused and worried. I live in the UK if that helps? I did get told on the phone by an advisor that I can us eit for personal youtube channel without worryign about VAT, btu then I got told that I need to do self assessment by someone else, so I am confused.

1 Expert replyverified_user

VAT Help - Very Scared and Worried

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Peter,