AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
5.3K members online now
5.3K members online now
Find out more about Google Ads billing options, forms of payment, and promotional codes
Guide Me
star_border

Unfair Charges to Account, Advise Please

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello Community, I've been on both chat and phone with customer service, and they don't address the following problem, so please advise on how I can proceed.

I'm an AdWords newbie who was running a Campaign from a remaining balance of about $35 from an Adwords Promotion (originally $100), when my bank account was charged $50. A customer service manager explained something about my automatic payment schedule and a $200 threshold. I had no idea what he was talking about, given that I had a balance (credit) of $35. Given my frustration, I Canceled the account a few days later, assuming I would be refunded the $50 from the remaining account Balance of $64.21 ($14.21 remaining from promotion). Instead, I have a red banner at the top of the page saying I need to "complete refunds and pay outstanding charges...Fix it" When I click that, this is what I get:

Refund details
You canceled your account on Jul 22, 2017
You have an outstanding balance so your (credit card) will be charged approximately $21.93 within 10 days.
The exact charge could be higher than this estimate if you accrued additional costs that weren’t billed before cancellation.

So it appears I will be charged an additional $21.93, instead of being refunded $50, even though my account Balance is $64.21 (recent $50 charge + $14.21 remaining from original promotion).