AdWords
5K members online now
5K members online now
Find out more about AdWords billing options, forms of payment, and promotional codes
Guide Me
star_border

Change automatic payments to manual payments

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am a newbie...I see that my adwords is set to automatically withdraw payments and I don't want it to do that. I would like to manually prepay so I don't get myself in trouble but when I try to change it I get "an error has occurred" 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Change automatic payments to manual payments

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hello and welcome:

I don't think you can switch between payment methods. (From post payment to pre-payment and vice versa.) If you want to do that, you'll have to close the account and open a new one.

However, BEFORE you do that, please note that most advertisers use "automatic payment". In the long run, this is a more convenient method of payment. If you want to limit your budget, do it by setting a limit of the campaign budget . You will NOT be charged a single dollar above your monthly budget.

Read more:

Can I switch my payment option after setting up my account?

http://support.google.com/adwords/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=34103

Set a budget for your campaign

http://support.google.com/adwords/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=2375420

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer’

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
I have made my daily budget $5 just to start and learn but I don't see anywhere to set a monthly or a campaign budget so what's going to stop adwords from just automatically charging me

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor

Hello again;