3.8K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

i i am new to adwords, need help understanding profit

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

i am new to adwords, how can i find out the aproximate profit  per click?

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by John Paul (Google Employee)
September 2015

Re: i i am new to adwords, need help understanding profit

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor
Hi Jim

If your site is an eCommerce site then the reporting is pretty complete within Analytics as Gemma explains - look for the eCommerce reports.

However, if you are looking at lead generation then things become a little more complex and a little less exact!

First, you need to figure out what a client is worth to you. In some cases, such as an accountant, the lifetime value of a client could be quite high. Or a real estate company. For others it may be less identifiable - a newsletter sign up, for example, does have a "value" to you, but it's harder to figure out perhaps.

Once you have a value you can do a couple of things - firstly, input that value into your conversion reporting - so that Google will report that value each time a conversion is triggered. for example, if you decide that a newsletter sign up is worth $5 to you, then each time the conversion triggers, Google add $5 to the tally.

In the reports you can then see how much each conversion cost you, and compare that with how much it is worth.... the difference, or rather, the multiple in percentage terms is your return on investment.