AdWords
4.4K members online now
4.4K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Why Is Search Term Report Delayed and Incomplete?

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

I'm curious why the data in the Search Term Report (Details button on Keyword screen) isn't as up to date as the rest of the performance data in an Adwords account. You can have 100 impressions or more sometimes and have no terms in the report and when terms do show up there's always a category 'other' that can have a significant number of impressions.

The Search Term Report is crucial for identifying negative keywords when using phrase and broad match types. The more quickly negative keywords can be identified, the less ad spend that is wasted towards keywords searchs with poor relevancy for that campaign.

The reason I am so shocked is that I'm a developer. Google is a very big company that has allocated huge resources to developing their Adwords platform as it generates a huge amount of income for the company. Obviously their databases store every Adwords search query in realtime. I can see the data being a little delayed like the rest of the performance data displayed in the Adwords account but frankly, I cannot think of any huge technical barrier to showing a complete search term report within the same time frame as other Adwords performance data and displaying EVERY keyword match and not lumping a bunch into 'Other'

It seems this delay and lack of complete data on the Search Term Report would have the effect, especially with new advertisers, of increasing the cost per conversion due to wasted ad spend on keyword searches that had a phrase or broad match that are not relevant and the faster all or part of the search is added to the negative keywords list, the quicker the advertiser can stop/prevent wasted CPC costs.