AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.2K members online now
4.2K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

When should I adjust my ad

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hey everyone, AdWords beginner here. I'm about to set up the first GoogleAd for our company's online shop. I know this question sounds vague, and definitely depend on the kind of ads, company, target, etc. But I'm wondering, how long should I wait in general, after my ad been published, for me to make adjustments based on the ad performance? In another word, what's the suggested amount of impressions/clicks before making a marketing decision(remove ads from an area, add more keywords, etc).

Any help is appreciated.

2 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Hugo S
September 2015

Re: When should I adjust my ad

[ Edited ]
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 3
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi Hugo,

Firstly a warm welcome to the AdWords community Smiley Happy

Your question is a very good question and I think is something that is very often not taken into consideration by new advertisers.

When analysing the CTR i always like to have a minimum of 1,000 impressions.

My advice to you, rather than editing your adverts, is to A-B test variations of your adverts alongside each other - Add a minimum of 2 adverts to every ad group and test the use of different call to actions, unique selling points and promotions. After some time you can compare the adverts performance against each other.