AdWords
2.1K members online now
2.1K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

What is the difference between ad group and campaign?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

I'm a beginner in adwords and would like to know the difference between ad group and campaign. Can somebody explain me in simple and detailed? I looked for references but was not satisfied.

Thanks.

1 Expert replyverified_user
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Theresa_Zook (Top Contributor Alumni)
September 2015

Re: What is the difference between ad group and campaign?

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
Hi,

A Campaign contains Ad Groups and Ad Groups contain Ads & Keywords. So in Account structure an Ad Group is one stage below a Campaign.

It is up to you how you organise your Account - maybe this example will help explain it.

If you sold CDs. You might want to have a Campaign for each genre of music so 'Rock Campaign', 'Classical Campaign', 'Jazz Campaign' etc

Within each of your Campaigns you might want to have a separate Ad Group for each artist/band/composer that would contain Ads and Keywords relevant to them - so for example in your 'Rock Campaign' you might want to have a 'Pearl Jam Ad Group', 'Green Day Ad Group' etc.

As I mentioned above, how you choose to organise your account is up to you, but it is worth having a think about how you want it structured for ease of reporting and optimisation going forward.

stwilsons

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Thanks for your valuable explanation +StWilsons. It definitely helped me understand the difference.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 4
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭