AdWords
5K members online now
5K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

What are the determining factors for when my ads will be displayed?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am completely new to Adwords. We are wanting to set up a remarketing campaign. This campaign will only target people who have simply visited our website. It will not involve keywords. I'm curious as to what determines if our ad will get displayed or not.

Lets say that a user visits example1.com and also visits example2.com. Both sites are set up to serve up a remarketing cookie. Now lets say that the user goes to a website that is displaying Google ads and only has 1 display area. Why would example1.com's ad be shown instead of example2.com's ad? Is it solely based on max CPC bid? Is it a combo of max CPC bid and the amount of budget remaining? Is it something else?

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by MosheTLV (Top Contributor)
September 2015

Re: What are the determining factors for when my ads will be displayed

[ Edited ]
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi Dustin,

Remarketing is a feature that lets you reach people who have previously visited your site. while you setup a display remarketing campaign you target the visitor who visited your website.
With context to the above mentioned example, if a website displaying Google ads and have only one ad unit available then whom ad will be shown there? well it depends on the number of advertisers competing for that position. not necessary that example1.com's ad or example2.com's ad will be displayed but there is a possibility a third advertiser's ad who targeted their Display campaign by other targeting option (I.e. Placement, Contextual, Topic, Interest etc ) will be shown there.

So if you want to run a remarketing campaign do not worry about a single website. you are targeting the user who visited your website, google will display your ad to the same users.