AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
1.9K members online now
1.9K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Very first budget

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi Everyone,

I am new to AdWords. I would like to know what would be the best start up budget for a small business? I understand all the qualifying questions such as how much they spend already online and/or in print. There are business out there who don't want you know what their budget is or they might just tell you half truth. Smiley Happy

Would love to recieve some help without 'it depends' scenarios. Man Happy

Many thanks.

RC

3 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Theresa_Zook (Rising Star)
September 2015

Re: Very first budget

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hello, and welcome to the community.

I'm afraid that if "it depends" is out of the question, your question will stay unanswered for quite some time Smiley Happy.

Just as it is the "what is the average CTR on Search or Display". There is no answer to that either, unless someone very high at Google can perform a query on the whole database, of all advertisers, and say: "it's 2.53% on Search and 0.12% on Display, wordlwide, during the last 365 days".

There are too many variables. Account size, number of keywords, how competitive they are, how wide is the area they serve, etc.

If a click costs 0.50 EUR now, and you could get 10.000 impressions per day for that keyword, it depends on the position you may achieve. If you can get to #1, maybe you get 25% CTR and that's 2500 clicks for that keyword alone. Times 0.50 EUR, 1250 EUR per day, per keyword.