AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2.6K members online now
2.6K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Tracking Templates, Custom URL's & ValueTrack Parameters

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi AdWords Community, I’m new to AdWords and I’m still confused on the subject of tracking templates, custom URL parameters and ValueTrack parameters (I’ve been through Google’s “help” documents on these subjects & I’ve searched the Advertising Community’s queries on the subject).   Wondering if someone out there can answer a couple of my questions?  I apologize in advance if these are seemingly fourth-grade level questions but this something I’ve struggled for a week to wrap my head around.

1. What are the differences between custom URL parameters and ValueTrack Parameters?  Are ValueTrack parameters essentially custom URL parameters that Google has pre-defined values for?
  2. What information do tracking templates capture that auto-tagging does not?  For example, why would I add the ValueTrack parameter device={device} to my Ad Group-level tracking template if I can just segment data by device in the “Ad Groups” tab?
  3. Where does the information gathered from your tracking template appear in AdWords?  If I have Analytics linked, will it automatically show in Analytics as well?

Many thanks!

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Jake M
January 2017

Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭
# 4
Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭