AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2.7K members online now
2.7K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Targeting only the United States

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Im rather new to adwords setup. I originally had my targeting setup to target the entire world. My niche is a web development service site. I know it is a highly competitive field but I think I can be pretty good at the advertising aspect.

Well when I target the entire world, the estimated reach is Billions obviously. However I do not think many people in foreign countries will want my services and/or I perfer not to offer my services to other countries because of language barriers/payment issues etc. I started off with a 5$ a day budget and I tons and tons of clicks really fast.

But then I change it to target only the U.S with the same budget and nothing. Barely any impressions and zero clicks. I thought targeting the U.S would have many people clicking on it because they are willing to have a website setup. 

I can get about 5000 impressions and 50 clicks then with the U.s I gwet about 1000 impressions and no clicks. What gives? Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Re: Targeting only the United States

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi Jason,
If you could give us a few more details about your campaigns? What type is it, Search Network or Diplay Network?

The drop in impressions and clicks was to be expected for sure, because you switched from a worldwide to US-only audiences. But it could be also that your targeting methods are restricting too much your audiences (that could apply if you're on Display Campaigns).