AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
5.7K members online now
5.7K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Structuring ad group/campaign

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi there- I'm very new to this and am getting confused about the differences between an ad group and a campaign for specific shops.

for example - a shop that only sold sofas - if I make my campaigns to be 'sofa bed' / 'leather sofa' etc what would my ad groups be?

thanks so much for any sdvice

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Krisha (Community Manager)
April 2016

Re: Structuring ad group/campaign

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @Mark S, as you become more familiar with AdWords (and asking questions here) you'll find there's rarely just one "right" way to do something.  Probably the most common phrase you'll see in replies is "it depends".

When considering Campaigns and Ad Groups, the best way to look at their differences is in the features that they offer.  The most important features of a Campaign (from a structure point of view) are budget control, locations and scheduling.  These features are not available at the Ad Group level* so how you decide what should be a Campaign and what should be an Ad Group can often be decided by whether you need control over budget, location or schedule for the products concerned.