AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
5.3K members online now
5.3K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Seems a bit strange to me

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am new at this, so could somebody please explain how and why the following occurs.

I created a “Search Network Text Advert”

My product is low value item, so I need to be very frugal with the cost per click amount.

I spent a lot of time using the keyword tool to choose words that were of a low value, some did not have a value at all – but they were marked as low competition. I thought I would bid an amount that would generously supersede googles estimated value, thinking there would not be a bidding war on all of these words.

Then I get a message on my adwords for all of them saying that the “bid is too low for the first page”

So, my thoughts are I can’t afford more than what I have bid so I will stay on the second page.

I am getting impressions on some of these terms and even 1 click were I paid were I paid my maximum bid.

So then I decided to search for the terms that I have bid on and were getting impressions and much to my surprise my advert was no were to be found not on page 1 or 2. In fact some terms did not show any advertising down the side at all.

I could not find my advert even on the term were I paid for a click

It seems that what Adwords is reporting to me is very different to what is actually being show when someone searches.

Please advise many thanks

1 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Rosa M
September 2015

Re: Seems a bit strange to me

[ Edited ]
Rising Star
# 3
Rising Star

Good morning.