5.2K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Remarketing: Display vs Search audience

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
I am new to remarketing and I have been asked what the difference is between the numbers for my audience. The difference is about 1,000 cookies issued. One states that the audience is for search and the other display.

I am familiar with the difference between the two campaign types and can explain that, however, I do not know why the numbers would be different on the tags themselves. Any help?
2 Expert replyverified_user
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Kari M
September 2015

Re: Remarketing: Display vs Search audience

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi Kari,

I can't technically explain the details but I did find this snippet from here: https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/2701222?ctx=tltp

"Different list sizes for different networks

"In the Shared library, you'll see two remarketing list sizes: one for Google Search and one for the Display Network. These sizes can be significantly different because there are two different types of cookies used to create these lists. In addition, some remarketing lists are available for both Google Search and the Display Network, while others are available for the Display Network only."

From what I've experienced, the Display lists are generally larger, although I don't have documentation I believe that this is also due in part to some level of security/privacy extended to users on the search network.

-Tommy
Tommy Sands, AdWords Top Contributor | Community Profile | Twitter | Philly Marketing Labs
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’

[ Edited ]
Rising Star
# 3
Rising Star

Hi Kari,