AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
3.1K members online now
3.1K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Quotes in a user's SEARCH TERMS

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi there, AdWords newbie here... do quotes in a user's SEARCH TERMS (their query) affect the way ads are displayed in the paid search results?   For example, if a user types in:

Miami "air conditioner" "repair"

into google will the PAID SEARCH ads (order and result set) differ when they enter:

Miami air conditioner repair

without the quotes? 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Quotes in a user's SEARCH TERMS

Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ✭
Obviously, the keywords and match types you have will affect when your ads are served.

By the same token, the way someone searches will (or should) affect which of your keywords gets triggered. How, I'm not sure.

For normal searches, that is a "broad" search (no quotes) which most people use, it's easy to see what keywords would be triggered to show your ads.

But I never considered what would happen in your example. Google has some rules to handle those cases but what they are, I can only speculate. And those rules would surely be different if someone searches

miami "air conditioner repair"

instead of your double-quoted search example. Would not be an issue for a broad-match keyword. So if your keyword is the broad "miami air conditioner repair", it could be triggered on that keyword.

Best guess and most logical to me: any terms inside quotes are treated as a term of its own. So only the phrase match "air conditioner" would trigger your ad.

Maybe the system takes two consecutive quoted terms and treats as one. Therefore, that part becomes "air conditioner repair" and would trigger your ad on that keyword in phrase match, if you have it.