Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Position on Screen.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi All,

I am completely new to Google Adwords and am looking at setting this up for my site but I have a question.

From what I have read the position of your website on the screen following an Adword click will either be on the right of the screen or in the main body of the screen above the organic search results. My question is can I setup my Adword campaign so that my website will always appear in the main body of search results, that is to say not on the right side of the screen. If so how do I tell Google to do this with my Adword campaign?

Thanks

Lou.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Position on Screen.

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Lou,

Top position ads need a high QS and a high ad rank. The only way to "guarantee" top position is to bid high. That might not be a good idea for youas a goal.

In general, top position ads get a better CTR, but not necessarily a better conversion rate. And, depending on your competition, you may need to bid more than you are willing to spend on a click. That's never a good idea.

I suggest you place your bid at the most you are willing to pay for a click, considering conversion rates. From there, your ad copy and keywords take over to influence your CTR. As your CTR goes up, in general, so does your ad's position on the page.

Best of Luck!

Pete

petebardo -- Deadhead doing AdWords

Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
# 3
Zee Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Lou,