4.8K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Phrase match question

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am new to AdWords and I am attempting to really learn the ins and outs before I jump in.

With Phrase Match, am I making a mistake if I use several keyword phrases in one add? 

If I had both of these in one ad, would their search phrase only need to include ONE of the phrases or both?

"Wedding photography"

"Wedding video"

Someone enters a search within my area of: "Texas wedding photography".  Would my ad show up based on my bid level, or would it automatically NOT show up because they said nothing about video?

What I am asking is, do I need to make two separate ads here?  I also have a few negative keywords.

P.S. I do not see a search function to see if something like this has been asked before.  Am I missing it in an obvious place?  Thanks for the help!

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by CassieH (Community Manager)
December 2015

Re: Phrase match question

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor
Hi John S E,

Neha gave you a good reason to create separate ad groups for these keywords. If someone searches for wedding video, you would want to show an ad for video, if someone searches for wedding photography, you would want to show and ad for photography.