AdWords
2.2K members online now
2.2K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Negative keywords preventing ads from showing, but not really.

D4
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
D4
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello. I'm an AdWords noob, and this is my first time posting in the AdWords community, so please be gentle! Smiley Happy

I'm having an issue similar to the one discussed on this thread: http://www.en.adwords-community.com/t5/Set-up-and-basics/Negative-exact-match-keywords-interfering-w...

My problem is slightly different (I think), and I'm posting this message here in hopes that someone from the community will be able to shed some further light on this issue.

So here goes...

I have setup a very granular account structure, consisting of (but not limited to) the following Ad Groups and Keywords:

--------------------------------------------

Ad Group:

Widget Suppliers

Keywords:

+widget +suppliers

Negative Keywords:

-"widget suppliers"

-[widget suppliers]

Ad Group:

Widget Suppliers""

Keyword:

"widget suppliers"

Negative Keywords: -[widget suppliers]

Ad Group:

Widget Suppliers[]

Keyword: [widget suppliers]

I also have separate Ad Groups for the singular versions of "suppliers" as well as similar Ad Groups using "distributors", "manufacturers", "producers", etc.

I have used this account structure to ensure that a query for "widget suppliers", for example, will trigger an ad from the Ad Group that contains the exact-match keyword [widget suppliers]. Similarly, using this structure (in theory), a query for "awesome widget suppliers" should trigger an ad from the Ad Group that contains the phrase-match keyword "widget suppliers".

A few things are going wrong here, some of which are discussed in the aforementioned thread: