Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Moving campaign to new account

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi guys,

I'm new to AdWords but have been tasked with sorting out an account for my company. Basically, someone previously set up this account to manage all campaigns from a variety of different clients. Of course, this is a huge mistake. One of the clients now wants control over their AdWords but we can't give them access to the whole account because it contains data for other clients!

As I understand it, to give them the campaign I must:

* Export the campaign with AdWords Editor
* Edit it in Excel
* Import it to a new account and hand control over to the client
* Delete the campaign from the original account

My questions are as follows:
* Are the above steps correct?
* Will I have to set up the billing information for the new account before moving the campaign?
* Is any information lost when transferring a campaign?
* Are there any risks I should be aware of?

Any help much appreciated!!

Thanks! 

3 Expert replyverified_user

Warning: AdWords interface instructions or screenshots in this thread may be out of date as we move to the new AdWords experience.

LEARN MORE

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by rashu (Google Employee)
September 2015

Re: Moving campaign to new account

Top Contributor Alumni
# 2
Top Contributor Alumni

Hi

1. You can open old account with adwords editor

2. Copy campaign

3. Open new account

4. Paste it

There is no need for excel and all

Regards, Nik
LinkedIn  |   @nikhilparachure | My Blog

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

Adding to the theniks.

Select the campaign in Adwords editor use ctrl+C in the old account

Go to the new account Use Ctrl+V

As i don't see the the copy option when i use mouse right click

Raghu

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor

Hi,