Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Match types within Ad groups

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to Adwords and setting up my first campaign, and have a keyword list very like the following:

Sofa bed

Sofa beds

Leather sofa bed

Sofas beds

Convertible sofa bed

Corner sofa bed

Quality sofa bed

Custom sofa bed

Modern sofa bed

Now I'm moving onto match types to go with the ad group - can I have separate ones for each group?

I was thinking of having phrase match around 'sofa bed' so as to not bring up any actual beds. Or would it be better to add a broad match modifier? Can I add both in the same ad group?

Really grateful for any advice.

Thanks.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Match types within Ad groups

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star
Hi Kathryn,

The good new is you can set up your ad groups any way you want. Most people start with one ad group with multiple match types in the same groups for sake of management time. Once you realize how successful each match type and keyword is, then you can break out the ad groups by match type to work on lowering CPCs. I would recommend broad match modified or exact match for sofa beds so that you don't pull in too many regular bed terms with a plain broad or phrase match keyword. This is a competitive keyword so you may even have good results only doing exact match or long-tail broad modified keywords to start.

Then use your search term report after running a few days to find new opportunities that convert well to add to your keyword bidding list.

Hope this helps!

Re: Match types within Ad groups

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi @KathrynM

First of all welcome to Adwords community..