AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2.2K members online now
2.2K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Location targeting

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi everybody,

I am new in Google Adwords and I got a question regarding location targeting. 

I have learnt that Adwords considers a place of interest both :

• users using a certain domain 
  • users typing a location in Google search

My question is: Is it possible to have only one of the other? Or saying maybe, to give the typed location an higher relevance than the domain location?

Infect, if a user is thinking of a location ( X) and type it in a google domain (Y) , it means he/she is looking for a service/product in that location (X) and therefore the domain (Y) should not be relevant. In this case only ads with place of interest  target  (X) should  be shown and not ads with with place of interest target  (Y).

But if I understood correctly in this case both ads with place of interest target ( X)and (Y )could be shown. Is this correct?

While if a user does not type any location but use a domain (Y), only the ads with place of interest target (Y) will be shown.

I hope I was clear enogh to get an answer. Smiley Happy

As said , I am new in Adwords but I already love it.

Thanks

Best

Semhar

2 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Semhar Y
September 2015

Re: Location targeting

Collaborator ✭ ☆ ☆
# 3
Collaborator ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi,

Uses a country-specific domain, such as google.fr (France), without including another location in the search. This will indicate the country specified in the domain (France, in this instance) as a location that the person may be interested in.