Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Location Targeting Problems

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hello,

Hope someone can help me because this is getting frustrating!

I am a tour operator in Morocco and want to target people in US, Canada, UK, Australia, Ireland, Iceland who want o travel to Morocco. 

At first I tried to target these locations and used the option People in My Targeted Location but my ads didn't show because my keywords include the words Marrakech, Morocco, etc. 

Then I tried all countries and territories and excluded all countries except the ones I am targeting but it also didn't work because adwords said there was an issue with the way my settings were. 

Now I am targeting Morocco, Marrakech, etc and have settings People in or who show interest in my targeted location. I have all countries in the world excluded except the ones I am targeting and Morocco. The problem with this is that I get a lot if impressions and clicks in Morocco, and I don't want people in Morocco clicking my ads as they are probably my competitors. I only want people iin US, Canada, etc to see and click my ads. 

I tried the advanced setting people who show interest in my target locations but google won't display my ads with this setting. 

I would appreciate some help please!

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Location Targeting Problems

[ Edited ]
Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hello again @Marrakech A. Welcome back.

Yep, This is an issue to exclude people who are in the territory you are targeting.

First, you don't need to exclude the rest of the word,  this is the default.

You have two options:

• One is in the ad-copy. To make clear in the ad-text that the search is for tourists.