AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
3.7K members online now
3.7K members online now
Get started with Google Ads - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Keywords per Ad Group Question

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello AdWords Guru's.  I wish to first thank those who read and respond and I will attempt to describe my question/situation as best as I am able.  I also apologize for the length, but I hope I made it easily readable Smiley Happy

I am a piano teacher, with a piano studio.  I advertise in a 13mile radius.  I have 9 Ad Groups.  

My 9 Ad Group Names with subsequent keyword:

Local Piano Lessons----------------> +Piano +Lessons 

Local Piano Teachers ---------------> +Local +Piano +Teachers

Piano Lessons for Kids ------------> +Kids +Piano +Lessons

Piano Lessons for Adults------------> +Piano +Lessons +Adults

Home Piano Lessons ---------------> +Home +Piano +Lessons

Beginner Piano Lessons -----------> +Beginner +Piano +Lessons

Piano Lessons for Kids --------------> +Kids +Piano +Lessons

Piano Teachers Baltimore -----------> +Baltimore +Piano +Teachers

Piano Lessons Baltimore -------------> +Baltimore +Piano +Lessons

I have only ONE or TWO keyword modifier per Ad Group as a +keyword +keyword +keyword modifier, while using appropriate negative keywords to keep search matches balanced between semi-broad and "way too broad"

Let's take "Local Piano Lessons" as an example.

If under "Local Piano Lessons" I include as keywords the following

+Piano +Lessons

Then this would include such hits from searches such as:

Piano Lessons in Chance, Florida

Arbutus, Oregon Piano Lessons

Piano Lessons Near Zip Code 21523

Piano Lessons Rates

As many times, users modify their search with their city location or zip code while searching for local businesses.