AdWords
2.7K members online now
2.7K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Keywords not triggering ad. Is my bid too low?

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am completely new to this and have no clue what I'm doing. I started running an ad for my Wilmington, Delaware dog training and dog walking business. I went through all the keywords and almost none of them are enabled due to "poor quality or low bid." I guess that explains why I couldn't trigger my ad to appear when using my keywords.

I have paused most of my keywords, but there are still a few that I need that just aren;t being triggered. My budget is $10 a day. Is that way too low? I want my ad to be triggered if someone searches for "Delaware dog trainer" or "Delaware dog walker," . The quality of those keywords is 6/10 ... so is it my low bid that keeps the ad from being triggered? Should I just put everything on hold until I have more $$$ to spend.

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Keywords not triggering ad. Is my bid too low?

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
What are you bidding?

Re: Better to have more or less keywords?

Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 3
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi Heather,

I have a few things for you that I hope you find useful.

1. Location Targeting. You can decide how far around your business that you want to advertise to. For example, do you want people from the entire state of Delaware or just Wilmington to see your ads? To make this decision, in AdWords go to the Settings Tab > Locations > + Locations button > Select the Campaign > Advanced Search > Search for (ex.) Wilmington, Delaware > Add.

Pictured Below:

123.png

4.png

5.png

This way, if a person living in Wilmington were to search 'Dog Trainer', your ad could show if you are using that keyword.