2.2K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Keywords and location

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi, and sorry if this is a silly question, but I am new to Adwords and I don't yet fully understand how things work.

I run a kennels business and want my advert to be shown to people who search for kennels in/near to nearby towns. My question is, is it sufficient just to set the geographic area for my campaign or do I need to have keywords that include the names of the towns.

If someone searches for "Boarding kennels near Durham" should I have a keyword that includes the name "Durham" or is it sufficient just to have the target location for the campaign set to cover the whole of the county.

I am not clear how the campaign's overall target location interacts with specific locations in keywords and given in searches.

Thanks,

Steve

2 Expert replyverified_user
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Steve J
September 2015

Re: Keywords and location

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Steve,

Let me tell you that this isn't a silly but rather an important question when we talk about the local targeting.

There are couple of things I could think of:-

1. One is to create one campaign and add the generic product/service related keywords and target them in your area and choose the default advanced location options i.e. People in, searching for, or viewing pages about my targeted location (recommended). Doing this will help trigger your ad when someone in that location is looking for your service or if someone is outside that location but trying to search for your targeted location.