2.1K members online now
Get started with AdWords - learn the basics to get set up for success
Guide Me
star_border

Keyword Planner: Avg Monthly Searches: Bar graph & text listing differ

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am new to Adwords. When researching using the Keywords Planner, search for new keywords and ad group ideas, I am getting a discrepancy between the main bar graph Average Monthly Searches and the Average Monthly Searches displayed below with the text listing of the keyword. For example, I enter the keyword "cars" and in the bar graph it shows Average Monthly Searches to be upwards of 60-70K, but below under the Keyword Ideas tab, "cars" lists as having only 6,000 or so Average Monthly Searches. Forgive my noob ignorance, but I haven't been able to find any information regarding this discrepancy. Can anyone tell me what I'm missing?

(Also, this is unrelated, but on another thread it was said that the Keyword Planner is only for Paid SEM keywords and another keyword tool should be used for SEO. Why is this? Isn't a keyword a keyword? Doesn't the Keyword Planner show the number of Google searches for those keywords? Why wouldn't this work for SEO?)

Thank you for your help.

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author John J A
September 2015

Re: Keyword Planner: Avg Monthly Searches: Bar graph & text listin

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 4
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭